o.terrien@consultingterritorial.eu

English

PROFILE

Olivier Terrien Profil

Holder of a Master 2 degree in Public Management, a Diploma in Specialised Higher Studies (D.E.S.S) in European Geopolitics and a B.A. (Hons) in Geography and Development (Westminster College, Oxford), I worked for 14 years at the Council of Europe (Strasbourg), among other roles as a project manager in the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities and the Centre of Expertise for Local Government Reform.

As such, I was responsible for developing and implementing numerous cooperation programmes, co-funded by the European Union and other institutions. Those programmes were aimed at providing legislative assistance for decentralisation processes and increasing the capabilities of local and regional authorities in the Council of Europe’s 47 member States, especially through partnerships and sharing of best practice.

These activities enabled me to develop my expertise across several sectors of local government. I also have in-depth knowledge of national and European policies on local and regional authorities and territorial development, and of decentralised cooperation networks.

CURRENT ACTIVITIES

Lecturer : Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Strasbourg (“Sciences Po”) Master 2 ALORE (Local and Regional Authorities in Europe), Consultant/Trainer at the French Institut National des Études Territoriales (INET), Member of the PILOTE Network (Réseau National de Chercheurs et de Praticiens du Pilotage des Politiques et des Organisations Publiques Territoriales, national network of researchers and others involved in steering regional public policies and organisations).

Olivier Territorial currently activities

MY SKILLS

MY KNOW-HOW

Identifying funding needs and opportunities

• Translating strategy into action by setting your projects in motion,

• Assessing your projects and identifying funding options.

Olivier Terrien Savoir Faire

Guidance and evaluation

• Planning and implementing your projects,

• Putting in place the preconditions for success (aims, tools, methodology, team, efficient resource management),

• Budget programming and monitoring,

• Guaranteeing progress by identifying in advance the potential risks and appropriate solutions,

• Critical analysis of outcomes through performance and evaluation reports.

Networks and name recognition

• Developing partner networks in line with your strategy,

• Increasing your visibility and level of national and international recognition,

• Adding value to your projects, internally and externally, through targeted communication campaigns,

• Ensuring your participation in relevant events on decentralised cooperation (strategic monitoring).

MY AREAS OF EXPERTISE

• The institutional environment and workings of European local and regional authorities, their administrative and budgetary structures and the general principles of public management,

• The stakes involved in territorial development and good governance at local and regional level in Europe,

• How the European institutions work, and the policies, programmes and European funds which are targeted at local and regional authorities,

• National and international networks for decentralised cooperation.

Olivier Terrien expertise
Olivier terrien strenghs

MY STRENGTHS

• Management of territorial projects in over 30 European countries,

• Providing impetus to national and international networks,

• Leadership skills and the ability to negotiate successfully with national and international partners or providers,

• Organisational skills, autonomy and an entrepreneurial mind-set,

• Ability to analyse data and information and transform them into action plans,

• Curiosity and an open mind,

• Bilingual in French and English, knowledge of Spanish and Russian.

TRAINING DIVISION

Training your elected representatives and territorial technical staff for greater effectiveness

Training

• Strategic territorial planning,
• Tools for consultation/dialogue with citizens,
• Evaluation of local public policies,
• Modern human-resources management,
• Communication and territorial marketing,
• Comparison of the different approaches taken by European local and regional authorities.

olivier terrien consulting

CONSULTING DIVISION

Olivier Terrien consulting services

Helping you steer your territorial projects at national and international level

Consultancy services to European local and regional authorities

• Setting up projects and identifying partners,
• Fundraising,
• Guidance,
• Evaluation,
• Exchange of best practice.

MY ACHIEVEMENTS

ROMACT Programme

• Launch, implementation and evaluation of the 1st Phase of the ROMACT Programme, run jointly by the Council of Europe and the European Union, on ‘Building the political will and administrative capacity of European local authorities to include Roma’ (40 pilot municipalities in 5 countries: Bulgaria, Italy, Hungary, Slovakia and Romania) (annual budget: 1,000,000 €) – 2013/2014.

Assessment and long-term planning of the City of Strasbourg's local democracy programme

• Assistance in implementing an ‘assessment and long-term planning’ approach to the City of Strasbourg’s local democracy programme (evaluation/ recommendations based on good practice in France and abroad) and experimenting with the use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) in consultation activities – 2013.

Assistance for decentralisation in the Balkans and the South Caucasus

• Coordinating the Council of Europe’s activities on legislative assistance for decentralisation in the Balkans and the South Caucasus (total budget: 2,200,000 €) – 2006-2012.

European Alliance of Cities and Regions for Roma Inclusion

• Coordinating the activities of the European Alliance of Cities and Regions for Roma Inclusion (set up in 2013 – 127 local and regional authorities from 29 countries): drawing up the Alliance’s strategic objectives for the period 2014/2016 and promoting the Alliance, especially by organising national workshops and drafting the communication strategy – 2013/2014.

The Council of Europe's Strategy for Innovation and Good Governance at Local Level

• Promoting the Council of Europe’s Strategy for Innovation and Good Governance at Local Level and the European Label of Governance Excellence (ELOGE) in Germany, Belgium, Spain and France – 2009-2012.

Implementation of various Council of Europe cooperation programmes

• Implementing various Council of Europe cooperation programmes for promoting best practice between local and regional authorities, leadership, strategic territorial planning, citizen participation, performance management, human resources management and training of local councillors and territorial technical staff, in Albania, Armenia, Germany, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Spain, France, Georgia and Serbia (in cooperation with the European Union, the OSCE and the Norwegian Association of Cities and Regions/KS: 950,000 €) – 2006-2012.

Organisation of 5 Forums of Cities and Regions of South-East Europe

• Organising 5 Forums of Cities and Regions of South-East Europe (Skopje/Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia-FYROM, Istanbul/Turkey, Novi Sad/Serbia, Prijedor/BiH, Budva/Montenegro – budget per Forum 50,000 €) and ensuring follow-up to their conclusions (reports, resolutions, recommendations) – 2000-2004.

NALAG Project

• Implementing the joint Council of Europe/ European Union project resulting in the creation of the National Association of Local Authorities of Georgia (NALAG), set up in 2004 (budget: 170,000 €) – 2000-2004.

MY RESEARCH / SURVEYS

2013

THESIS on ‘The democratic governance of territorial authorities in France and in Europe’ / ‘Is citizen participation a tool for modernising public management and improving local public services?’ – Master 2 in Public Management at the Institut Supérieur d’Administration et de Management (ISAM-IAE), University of Lorraine, Nancy

1998

THESIS on ‘The development of irrigated agriculture in the Senegal River valley and delta’ – Masters in Geography and Development (Bachelor of Arts, Honours) at Westminter College, Oxford, and work placement at the Ministry of Agriculture of the Republic of Senegal, Saint Louis (SAED, Company for the Development and Use of the Senegal River Delta).

1997

REPORT on ‘The effectiveness of the PHARE Programme – Poland-Hungary, Assistance for the Restructuring of the Economy’ – work placement at the Directorate General for Research at the European Parliament.

CONTACT ME

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Olivier TERRIEN
Consultant / Trainer
Consulting Territorial Europe (CTE)
5 Impasse des Chèvres
67170 Brumath – France
Tel. + 33 6 86 91 84 11
E-mail : o.terrien@consultingterritorial.eu
Site : www.consultingterritorial.eu

o.terrien@consultingterritorial.eu

Accueil

PROFIL

Olivier Terrien Profil

Titulaire d’un Master 2 en Management Public, d’un Diplôme d’Études Supérieures Spécialisées en Géopolitique européenne (D.E.S.S) et d’un Bachelor of Arts (honours) en Géographie et Développement (obtenu à Westminster College, Oxford), je suis doté d’une expérience de 14 années au Conseil de l’Europe, en particulier au sein du Congrès des Pouvoirs Locaux et Régionaux et du Centre d’Expertise sur la Réforme de l’Administration Locale, en qualité de chef de projet.

J’ai, dans ce cadre, été chargé de l’élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre de nombreux programmes de coopération, cofinancés par l’Union européenne et d’autres institutions. Ces programmes visaient à apporter une assistance législative aux processus de décentralisation et à développer les capacités des collectivités territoriales des 47 États membres de l’Organisation, notamment à travers les partenariats et les échanges de bonnes pratiques.

J’ai ainsi pu développer mon savoir-faire dans plusieurs secteurs de l’administration locale. Je possède également une connaissance approfondie des politiques nationales et européennes liées aux autorités locales et régionales et à l’aménagement des territoires, ainsi que des réseaux de coopération décentralisée.

ACTUALITÉ

Chargé d’enseignement : Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Strasbourg (Sciences Po) Master 2 ALORE (Administrations Locales et Régionales en Europe), Consultant/Formateur auprès de l’Institut National des Études Territoriales (INET), Membre du Réseau PILOTE (Réseau National de Chercheurs et de Praticiens du Pilotage des Politiques et des Organisations Publiques Territoriales).

Olivier Terrien Actualité

MES COMPÉTENCES

MON SAVOIR-FAIRE

Élaboration et recherche de financement

• Concrétiser votre stratégie en initialisant vos projets.

• Instruire vos projets et rechercher des financements.

Olivier Terrien Savoir Faire

Pilotage et évaluation

• Organiser et mettre en oeuvre vos projets.

• Mettre en place les conditions de réussite (objectifs, outils, méthode, équipe, pilotage efficient des ressources).

• Assurer la programmation et le suivi budgétaire.

• Sécuriser l’avancement en identifiant en amont les risques potentiels et les solutions appropriées.

• Analyser de manière critique les résultats obtenus à travers la préparation de rapports d’exécution et d’évaluation.

Réseaux et notoriété

• Développer vos réseaux de partenaires en accord avec votre stratégie.

• Renforcer votre visibilité et votre notoriété nationale et internationale.

• Valoriser vos projets en interne et externe à travers des actions de communication adaptées.

• Assurer votre participation aux événements relatifs à la coopération décentralisée (veille stratégique).

MON EXPERTISE

• L’environnement institutionnel et le fonctionnement des collectivités territoriales, leur organisation administrative et budgétaire et les principes généraux du management public.

• Les enjeux de l’aménagement des territoires et de la bonne gouvernance locale en Europe.

• Le fonctionnement des institutions européennes, les politiques, les programmes et les fonds européens destinés aux collectivités territoriales.

• Les réseaux nationaux et internationaux de coopération décentralisée.

Olivier Terrien Expertise
Olivier Terrien valeur ajoutée

MA VALEUR AJOUTÉE

• Gestion de projets de territoires dans plus de 30 pays européens.

• Animation de réseaux nationaux et internationaux.

• Leadership et capacité à s’imposer face à des partenaires ou prestataires nationaux et internationaux.

• Sens de l’organisation, autonomie et esprit entrepreneurial.

• Capacité d’analyse des données et informations pour les traduire en plans d’actions.

• Curiosité et ouverture d’esprit.

• Bilingue français/anglais, notions d’espagnol et de russe.

PÔLE FORMATION

Former vos élus et techniciens territoriaux pour plus d’efficacité

Formation

• Planification territoriale stratégique,
• Outils de concertation/dialogue citoyen,
• Évaluation des politiques publiques locales,
• Gestion moderne des ressources humaines,
• Communication et marketing territorial,
• Regards croisés sur les diverses pratiques des collectivités territoriales européennes.

Olivier Terrien pôle formation

PÔLE CONSEIL

Olivier Terrien pôle conseil

Vous conseiller dans le pilotage de vos projets de territoire nationaux et internationaux

Conseil aux collectivités territoriales européennes

• Élaboration et identification de partenaires,
• Recherche de financement,
• Pilotage,
• Évaluation,
• Échange de bonnes pratiques.

MES RÉALISATIONS

Programme ROMACT

• Lancement, mise en œuvre et évaluation de la 1er Phase du Programme ROMACT, conjoint entre le Conseil de l’Europe et l’Union européenne, sur « Le renforcement de la volonté politique et des capacités administratives des collectivités territoriales européennes en faveur de l’inclusion des Roms » (40 municipalités pilotes dans 5 pays: Bulgarie, Italie, Hongrie, Slovaquie et Roumanie) (budget annuel : 1 000 000 €) – 2013/2014.

Bilan et prospective sur le dispositif de démocratie locale de la Ville de Strasbourg

• Appui à la mise en œuvre d’une démarche ‘bilan et prospective’ sur le dispositif de démocratie locale de la Ville de Strasbourg (diagnostics/recommandations s’inspirant des bonnes pratiques en France et à l’étranger) et à l’expérimentation des Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication (TIC) dans les démarches de concertation – 2013.

Assistance à la décentralisation du Conseil de l'Europe dans les Balkans et le Caucase du Sud

• Coordination des activités d’assistance législative à la décentralisation du Conseil de l’Europe dans les Balkans et le Caucase du Sud (budget total : 2 200 000 €) – 2006-2012.

l’Alliance Européenne des Villes et Régions pour l’inclusion des Roms

• Coordination des activités de l’Alliance Européenne des Villes et Régions pour l’inclusion des Roms (créée en 2013 – 127 collectivités territoriales issues de 29 pays) : élaboration des orientations stratégiques de l’Alliance pour la période 2014/2016, promotion de l’Alliance notamment à travers l’organisation d’ateliers nationaux, rédaction de la stratégie de communication: 2013/2014.

Stratégie du Conseil de l’Europe sur la Bonne Gouvernance et l’Innovation au niveau local

• Promotion de la Stratégie du Conseil de l’Europe sur la Bonne Gouvernance et l’Innovation au niveau local et du Label européen d’excellence en matière de gouvernance (ELOGE) en Allemagne, Belgique, Espagne et France – 2009-2012.

Mise en œuvre de divers programmes de coopération du Conseil de l'Europe

• Mise en œuvre de divers programmes de coopération du Conseil de l’Europe portant sur la promotion des échanges de bonnes pratiques entre collectivités territoriales, le leadership, la planification territoriale stratégique, la participation citoyenne, la gestion de la performance, la gestion des ressources humaines, la formation des élus locaux et techniciens territoriaux en Albanie, Arménie, Allemagne, Belgique, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Espagne, France, Géorgie et Serbie (en coopération avec l’Union européenne, l’OSCE, et l’Association nationale des Villes et Régions de Norvège/KS: 950 000 €) – 2006-2012.

Organisation de 5 Forums des Villes et Régions de l’Europe du Sud-Est

• Organisation de 5 Forums des Villes et Régions de l’Europe du Sud-Est (Skopje/Ex-République Yougoslave de Macédoine-FYROM, Istanbul/Turquie, Novi Sad/Serbie, Prijedor/BiH, Budva/Monténégro – budget unitaire 50 000 €) et suivi des conclusions (rapports, résolutions, recommandations) – 2000-2004.

Projet NALAG

• Mise en œuvre du projet conjoint entre le Conseil de l’Europe et l’Union européenne ayant abouti à la création de l’Association Nationale de Pouvoirs Locaux de Géorgie (NALAG) créée en 2004 (budget : 170 000 €) – 2000-2004.

MES ÉTUDES ET RECHERCHES

2013

MEMOIRE sur « La gouvernance démocratique des collectivités territoriales en France et en Europe/ « La participation citoyenne est-elle un instrument de modernisation de la gestion publique et d’amélioration des services publics locaux ? » – Master 2 en Management Public à l’Institut Supérieur d’Administration et de Management de Nancy (ISAM-IAE), Université de Lorraine

1998

MEMOIRE sur « Le développement de l’agriculture irriguée dans la Vallée et le Delta du Fleuve Sénégal » – Maitrise en Géographie et Développement (Bachelor of Arts Honours) à Westminter College, Oxford & Stage au Ministère de l’Agriculture de la République du Sénégal à Saint Louis (SAED – Société d’Aménagement et d’Exploitation des terres du Delta du Fleuve Sénégal).

1997

MEMOIRE sur “L’efficacité du Programme PHARE – Pologne-Hongrie Assistance à la Reconstruction Economique” – stage a la Direction Générale des Etudes du Parlement européen.
Olivier Terrien Savoir Faire

CONTACTEZ-MOI

VOTRE NOM (obligatoire)

VOTRE EMAIL (obligatoire)

SUJET

VOTRE MESSAGE

Olivier Terrien
Consultant / Formateur
Consulting Territorial Europe (CTE)
5 Impasse des Chèvres
67170 Brumath – France
Tel. + 33 6 86 91 84 11
E-mail : o.terrien@consultingterritorial.eu
Site : www.consultingterritorial.eu